As people who live in Texas, we value our freedom, and it shows in our state auto insurance law. Texas is a state that does not spell out a requirement for car insurance, but rather requires "financial responsibility" from its drivers. This means that a driver must be able to cover any injuries and damage they cause in an accident, but they are free to choose whether they want to do that with insurance or by other means, such as a surety bond or leaving a large deposit with the state comptroller or the county judge where the car is registered.
As it turns out, insurance is often the easiest way to cover these requirements. If insurance is the tool you use to show financial responsibility, you will be required to carry liability insurance. Specifically, you'll need at least $25,000 of property damage liability insurance and $30,000 injury liability insurance (per person, up to $60,000 per incident) to drive legally in the state.
Of course, Texas drivers often exercise their freedom to choose other insurance policies beyond the state minimum, too. If you want to protect the investment you've made in your car, you might be wise to purchase comprehensive, collision, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
Texans also have the freedom to save money on car insurance. We can do this by doing little things like taking a course in driver safety or drug and alcohol awareness or we can do it by exercising another freedom: The freedom to shop around. You can shop around quite easily using us as your independent agent. You can even compare live auto insurance quotes on our website, allowing your to be certain that you are getting the best possible rates for the exact coverage that you need.